Enter The Contest | MerleFest
MerleFest Logo
Window World Logo
Enter the Chris Austin Songwriting Contest

Music. Moments. Memories.

MerleFest Logo

April 25-28, 2019

2019 Chris Austin Songwriting Competition Finalists:

Wyatt Espalin (Hiawassee, GA): “Light Coming Through”
Anya Hinkle (Asheville, NC): “Ballad Of Zona Abston”
James Woolsey (Petersburg, IN) and David Foster (Petersburg, IN): “Sugar Ridge Road”
Hannah Kaminer (Asheville, NC): “Don’t Open Your Heart”
Andrew Millsaps (Ararat, NC): “Ain’t No Genie (In A Bottle Of Jack)”
Shannon Wurst (Fayetteville, AR): “Better Than Bourbon”
Wright Gatewood (Chicago, IL): “First”
Alexa Rose (Asheville, NC): “Medicine For Living”
Bryan Elijah Smith (Dayton, VA): “In Through The Dark”
Ashleigh Caudill (Nashville, TN) and Jon Weisberger (Cottontown, TN): “Walkin’ Into Gloryland”
Kevin T. Hale (Brentwood, TN): “We All Die To Live Again”
Russ Parrish (Burnsville, MN) and Topher King (Savage, MN): “Washed By The Water”

2019 Chris Austin Songwriting Contest Sponsors are:

1st Place Winners Receive

  • Winning song performance on the Cabin Stage at MerleFest on Friday night
  • Perform a 20-35-minute set on the Cabin Stage on Saturday between 11:00 am – 3:30 pm
  • $600 cash
  • Two boxes of D’Addario strings
  • Shubb Capos
  • Saloon Studios Live will provide recording sessions for the four 1st place CASC winners
    • Saloon Studios Live will invite the CASC winners to join Saloon Studios for a live performance at one of their upcoming shows
    • CASC winners will either be opening acts or may be paired for a Rising Stars show on Saloon Studios performance show
    • Saloon Studios Live will provide each CASC winner with the unmastered audio and video recording from that performance to use at their discretion. Saloon Studios will retain a copy of that performance and may also use it at their discretion
    • Saloon Studios Live is an intimate, close-up experience where artists performer in a 100-seat, mid-nineteenth century saloon replica with state-of-the-art sound technology.
  • 1st place winning song in each category will be broadcast on WNCW-a non-commercial public radio station that broadcasts a varied format including folk, blues, jazz, reggae, Celtic, world, rock, bluegrass, indie and news.

2nd Place Winners Receive

  • $300 cash
  • Shubb Capos
  • One box of D’Addario strings

3rd Place Winners Receive

  • $100 cash
  • Shubb Capos
  • One box of D’Addario strings